TL;DR
Get coffee and tea gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
SLR Food Distribution Inc. is recalling Wise Wife Brand Ground Cinnamon because testing found elevated lead levels. The product was sold in 14 states from September 2025 through June 2026; no illnesses have been reported. Consumers should not use it and can discard it or return it for a full refund.
SLR Food Distribution Inc. is recalling Wise Wife Brand Ground Cinnamon because a sample tested by The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station showed elevated lead levels, according to a company announcement posted by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration on October 29, 2026. The affected cinnamon was distributed to stores in 14 states, and the company says no illnesses have been reported.
The recall covers Wise Wife ground cinnamon with UPC 0688474302754, sold in a 110-gram (3.88-ounce) clear plastic container with a black screw-top cap. The affected product has a best-before date of April 25, 2027; the UPC appears on the back label. The company identifies the product by those package details and does not describe other Wise Wife products as part of this recall.
According to the announcement, the cinnamon was distributed to retail and grocery stores in Connecticut, Indiana, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin. Distribution took place between September 8, 2025, and June 28, 2026. The announcement does not provide the quantity distributed or identify specific retailers.
SLR Food Distribution says it has asked customers to stop selling and distributing the affected product, remove it from shelves, hold any remaining inventory and follow the company’s recall instructions. Consumers are advised not to eat the cinnamon. They can discard it or return it to the place of purchase for a full refund, the company said.
Health Risks and Consumer Steps
The recall matters because lead exposure can harm health, and contaminated cinnamon may be used repeatedly in food or drinks before a consumer realizes there is a problem. The company’s announcement says the effects of lead depend on the amount and duration of exposure, as well as a person’s age and body weight. It notes that short-term exposure to very low levels may produce no symptoms, so feeling well does not establish whether exposure occurred.
The announcement says increased blood lead levels may be the only apparent sign of exposure. It also warns that prolonged exposure in children can cause permanent harm to the central nervous system, including learning and developmental problems. These are general health warnings in the company notice; it does not say that any specific consumer has been harmed by this product. Anyone concerned about possible exposure can contact a health care provider for advice.
Consumers can use the brand, UPC, package size and best-before date to check whether they have the recalled item. They should not taste or use it to decide whether it is affected. Retailers are being asked to remove stock and keep remaining inventory on hold under the company’s recall instructions.
Products Worth Considering

Cuisinart Chef's Classic 11-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Instant Pot InstantChill Plus Ice Cream Maker, 2-Pint

Ninja French Door Premier 10-in-1 Air Fry Oven, 20.3 Qt, Stainless Steel (FO101)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Testing Prompted the Recall
The company describes the action as a voluntary recall. It says the recall began after a sample was collected and analyzed by The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, which found elevated lead levels in the product. The announcement does not include the sample’s measured lead concentration, the testing method or details about the sampling process.
The FDA’s notice identifies the posting as a company announcement. It explains that the FDA posts company recalls, market withdrawals and safety alerts as a public service and does not endorse the product or the company. The notice therefore relays the company’s recall information; it does not say that the FDA independently conducted the test that prompted the action.
The distribution dates span several months, from September 2025 to June 2026, while the recall was announced in October 2026. That timeline means consumers may still have the product in their cupboards after the retail distribution period ended. The stated best-before date, April 25, 2027, also falls after the announcement date.
““Consumers should not consume the recalled product.””
— SLR Food Distribution Inc., in the company announcement posted by the FDA
What the Notice Does Not Specify
The announcement does not state how much lead was detected, whether additional lots were tested, or how many containers were distributed or remain in stores and homes. It also does not identify the individual retailers that carried the cinnamon, so shoppers may need to check with stores where they bought it.
No illnesses have been reported, according to the company, but the notice does not say whether consumers have been tested for lead exposure. It provides no information about the source of the lead or whether further investigation has identified a point in production or distribution where contamination may have occurred. The FDA posting is identified as the company’s announcement, not an independent FDA test report.
Retail Removal and Refunds
SLR Food Distribution says it is notifying customers to stop distribution and sales, remove the affected cinnamon from shelves and place remaining stock on hold. The notice does not give a deadline for completing those steps or describe any additional testing or investigation milestones.
Consumers with questions can contact SLR Food Distribution at 1-516-437-3782 or slrusaorder@gmail.com. The company lists its address as 495 West John St., Hicksville, New York, 11801, and its business hours as Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern Time. People with the affected UPC and package details should not consume the cinnamon and should discard it or seek a full refund from the place of purchase.
Key Questions
Which Wise Wife cinnamon is included in the recall?
The recall covers Wise Wife Brand Ground Cinnamon in a 110-gram (3.88-ounce) clear plastic container with a black screw-top cap. Check for UPC 0688474302754 and a best-before date of April 25, 2027.
Where was the recalled cinnamon sold?
SLR Food Distribution says it went to retail and grocery stores in Connecticut, Indiana, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin between September 8, 2025, and June 28, 2026.
What should I do if I have the product?
Do not consume it. The company says consumers should discard the cinnamon or return it to the place of purchase for a full refund. Do not rely on its appearance or smell to determine whether it is safe.
Have any illnesses been reported?
The company announcement says no illnesses have been reported to date. It does not provide a lead concentration or say whether consumers have been tested. Contact a health care provider if you have concerns about possible exposure.
Who can answer questions about the recall?
SLR Food Distribution lists 1-516-437-3782 and slrusaorder@gmail.com for consumer questions. Its stated business hours are Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern Time.
Source: fda.gov
